google play
app store
settings icon
profile icon


Navarasa: Watch the trailer of the Netflix anthology set for August 6 release

The anthology series is produced by Mani Ratnam featured nine segments directed by nine filmmakers

Sanjith Sidhardhan
Jul 09, 2021
cover image

Netflix’s Navarasa, the much-awaited Tamil anthology backed by Mani Ratnam, finally has a release date. The streaming platform announced that the mega project featuring an ensemble cast, will drop on August 6. 

This was announced through a video, conceptualised and directed by Bharat Bala, which reflected the core theme of the anthology – nine emotions in nine different stories. 

The video has the anthology’s cast including Suriya, Parvathy, Siddharth, Prakash Raj, Gautham Vasudev Menon, Vijay Sethupathi, Aditi Balan, Bobby Simha, Prayaga Martin, Delhi Ganeshan, Rohini, Revathy and Prasanna. Yogi Babu is reportedly the only actor who will be seen in more than one episode of the anthology, which has music by composers AR Rahman, Vishal Bhardwaj, Ghibran, D Imman and Aruldev. 

The anthology will be directed by nine stellar filmmakers and will also mark the debut of Arvind Swami as a director. Arvind will also star in Karthick Naren’s episode.

Apart from the Arvind and Karthick, it also has segments from Bejoy Nambiar, Priyadarshan, Karthik Subbaraj, Rathindran Prasad, Sarjun, Vasanth Sai, Halitha Shameen and Gautham Vasudev Menon, who featurette has Suriya and Prayaga Martin in the lead. Suriya and Gautham are collaborating 13 years after their superhit Varanam Aayiram and the hype for their segment has already peaked with Netflix also releasing a few glimpses of the actor, who reportedly plays a musician.

The team has collaborated for the anthology with an aim of “contributing the proceeds” to the cine workers in Tamil cinema who were affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.  

Partner sites:
Hindustan Times · Live Hindustan · Live Mint
Desimartini · Shine · Healthshots · Slurrp
Copyright @ 2021 OTTplay, Hindustan Media Ventures Limited