OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

BAFTA 2022: Denis Villeneuve’s sci-fi epic Dune leads nominations; see full list

The BAFTAs will take place at the Royal Albert Hall in London on March 13.

BAFTA 2022: Denis Villeneuve’s sci-fi epic Dune leads nominations; see full list

A still from Dune

Last Updated: 05.15 PM, Feb 04, 2022


The nominees for the 2022 British Academy Film Awards (BAFTA) were announced on February 3, Thursday. British TV personalities AJ Odudu and Tom Allen unveiled the list of contenders ahead of the ceremony at the Royal Albert Hall in London on March 13.

Denis Villeneuve’s adaptation of Frank Herbert's eponymous novel Dune is in the lead with 11 nominations to its name followed by Jane Campion's Western Power of the Dog.  

Here is the full list:

Best film



Licorice Pizza

The Power of the Dog

Outstanding British film

After Love

Ali & Ava


Boiling Point


Last Night in Soho


Leading actress

Lady Gaga - House of Gucci

Alana Haim - Licorice Pizza

Emilia Jones - Coda

Renate Reinsve- The Worst Person in the World

Joanna Scanlan - After Love

Tessa Thompson - Passing

Leading actor

Adeel Akhtar - Ali & Ava

Mahershala Ali - Swan Song

Benedict Cumberbatch - The Power of the Dog

Leonardo DiCaprio - Don't Look Up

Stephen Graham - Boiling Point

Will Smith - King Richard

Supporting actress

Caitriona Balfe - Belfast

Jessie Buckley - The Lost Daughter

Ariana DeBose - West Side Story

Ann Dowd - Mass

Aunjanue Ellis - King Richard

Ruth Negga - Passing

Best supporting actor

Mike Faist - West Side Story

Ciaran Hinds - Belfast

Troy Kotsur - Coda

Woody Norman - C'mon C'mon

Jesse Plemons - The Power of the Dog

Kodi Smit-McPhee - The Power of the Dog

​Best director

Aleem Khan - After Love

Ryusuke Hamaguchi - Drive My Car

Audrey Diwan - Happening

Paul Thomas Anderson - Licorice Pizza

Jane Campion - The Power of the Dog

Julia Ducournau - Titane

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer​

After Love - Aleem Khan (writer/director)

Boiling Point - James Cummings (writer), Hester Ruoff (producer)

The Harder they Fall - Jeymes Samuel (writer/director)

Keyboard Fantasies - Posy Dixon (writer/director), Liv Proctor (producer)

Passing - Rebecca Hall (writer/director)

Film not in the English language

Drive My Car

The Hand of God

Parallel Mothers

Petite Maman

The Worst Person in the World

Best documentary

Becoming Cousteau



The Rescue

Summer of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)

Best animated film




The Mitchells vs The Machines

Best original screenplay

Being The Ricardos - Aaron Sorkin

Belfast - Sir Kenneth Branagh

Don't Look Up - Adam McKay

King Richard - Zach Baylin

Licorice Pizza - Paul Thomas Anderson

Best adapted screenplay

Coda - Sian Heder

Drive My Car - Ryusuke Hamaguchi

Dune - Denis Villeneuve

The Lost Daughter - Maggie Gyllenhaal

The Power of the Dog - Jane Campion

Best original score

Being the Ricardos - Daniel Pemberton

Don't Look Up - Nicholas Britell

Dune - Hans Zimmer

The French Dispatch - Alexandre Desplat

The Power of the Dog - Jonny Greenwood

Best casting

Boiling Point - Carolyn McLeod

Dune - Francine Maisler

The Hand of God - Massimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco

King Richard - Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman

West Side Story - Cindy Tolan

Best cinematography

Dune - Greig Fraser

Nightmare Alley - Dan Laustsen

No Time To Die - Linus Sandgren

The Power of the Dog - Ari Wegner

The Tragedy of Macbeth - Bruno Delbonnel

Best costume design

Cruella - Jenny Beavan

Cyrano - Massimo Cantini Parrini

Dune - Robert Morgan, Jacqueline West

The French Dispatch - Milena Canonero

Nightmare Alley - Luis Sequeira

Best editing

Belfast - Una Ni Dhonghaile

Dune - Joe Walker

Licorice Pizza - Andy Jurgensen

No Time To Die - Tom Cross, Elliot Graham

Summer Of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) - Joshua L Pearson

Best production design

Cyrano - Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer

Dune - Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos

The French Dispatch - Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo

Nightmare Alley - Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau

West Side Story - Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo

Best make-up and hair

Cruella - Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne

Cyrano - Alessandro Bertolazzi, Sian Miller

Dune - Love Larson, Donald Mowat

The Eyes of Tammy Faye - Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh

House of Gucci - Frederic Aspiras, Jana Carboni, Giuliano Mariano, Sarah Nicole Tanno

Best sound

Dune - Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett

Last Night In Soho - Colin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan

No Time To Die - James Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor

A Quiet Place Part II - Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn

West Side Story - Brian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

Best special visual effects

Dune - Brian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer

Free Guy - Swen Gillberg, Bryan Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick

Ghostbusters: Afterlife - Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro

The Matrix Resurrections - Tom Debenham, Huw J Evans, Dan Glass, JD Schwaim

No Time To Die - Mark Bakowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

Best British short film

The Black Cop


The Palace


Three Meetings of the Extraordinary Committee

Best British short animation

Affairs of the Art

Do Not Feed the Pigeons

Night of the Living Dread

Get the latest updates in your inbox