google play
app store
settings icon
profile icon


Exclusive! Anoop Menon, Prakash Raj, Sunny Wayne’s Varaal is a political drama: Kannan Thamarakkulam

The movie, which is scripted by Anoop Menon, also has Suresh Krishna and Renji Panicker as part of the cast

Sanjith Sidhardhan
Sep 03, 2021
cover image
Varaal poster

Director Kannan Thamarakkulam’s next titled Varaal, the title poster of which was released by Mohanlal, Manju Warrier, Tovino Thomas and Joju George, also has a star cast that features some of the leading actors in the industry.

Talking exclusively to OTTplay, Kannan tells us, “Anoop Menon and Prakash Raj sir will be playing the lead roles. It’s a movie made on a big canvas and hence, we have a huge star cast too. Sunny Wayne, Suresh Krishna, Shankar Ramakrishnan and Renji Panicker are also part of the film and a lot of others will be confirmed soon.”

Anoop Menon, who had earlier worked with Kannan in Maradu 357 that has been retitled as Vidhi, has scripted the film. On the movie, Kannan says, “It’s an out-and-out political film, which is based on the current socio-political scenario.”

On how different it is from Kannan’s previous ventures, Vidhi and Pattabhiraman, the filmmaker says, “In Vidhi, the politics we have presented is from a different angle through corruption et al. Similarly, Pattabhiraman dealt with a subject that affects the people. Varaal revolves around politicians and their politics.”

The film is set to go on floors soon. “We are planning to start shooting in a few weeks, with Ernakulam, Thiruvananthapuram and Peermade being the main locations,” he says, adding that the movie’s cinematography is by Ravi K Chandran.

Meanwhile, Anoop has completed shooting his directorials King Fish and Padma. The actor, who was last seen in a cameo role in #Home, is also awaiting the release of Twenty One Grams and Pathonpatham Noottandu, in which he plays King of Travancore Ayilyam Thirunal.

Partner sites:
Hindustan Times · Live Hindustan · Live Mint
Desimartini · Shine · Healthshots · Slurrp
Copyright @ 2021 OTTplay, Hindustan Media Ventures Limited