OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

From Cillian Murphy to Christopher Nolan - Here are the first-time winners of the Oscars 2024

After eight nominations over the years, director Christopher Nolan has won his first Oscar award for Oppenheimer

From Cillian Murphy to Christopher Nolan - Here are the first-time winners of the Oscars 2024
Cillian Murphy and Christopher Nolan at the Oscars

Last Updated: 06.01 PM, Mar 11, 2024


The 2024 Academy Awards have already created a buzz on the internet over Emma Stone’s second Oscars win and Ryan Gosling performing on I’m Just Ken on stage. Oppenheimer scooped the Oscars, by winning seven awards with actor Cillian Murphy and director Christopher Nolan winning the Best Actor and Best Director Awards, respectively, for the first time.

Like Cillian and Christopher, here are other artists who won the Oscar for the first time in 2024.

Christopher Nolan won Best Director and Best Picture for Oppenheimer, after eight nominations over the years.

Cillian Murphy earned his first nomination and first award for Best Actor for his work in Oppenheimer.

Robert Downey Jr won his first Oscar for Best Supporting Actor in Oppenheimer.

Da’Vine Joy Randolph won her first-ever Oscar for Best Supporting Actress for The Holdovers.

Emma Thomas and Charles Roven won as producers for Best Picture for Oppenheimer.

James Wilson won the award for Best International Feature for The Zone of Interest.

Raney Aronson-Rath, Mstyslav Chernov and Michelle Mizner won Best Documentary Feature Film for 20 Days in Mariupol.

Steven Rales won his first Oscar for Best Live Action Short Film for The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar.

Dave Mullins and Brad Booker won their first Oscar in the Best Animated Short Film category for War Is Over!

Hoyte van Hoytema won in the category of Best Cinematography for his work on Oppenheimer.

Justine Triet and Arthur Harari won for Best Original Screenplay for Anatomy of a Fall.

Cord Jefferson won his first Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay for American Fiction.

Takashi Yamazaki, Kiyoko Shibuya, Masaki Takahashi and Tatsuji Nojima won their first Oscar for Best Visual Effects for Godzilla Minus One.

Holly Waddington won Best Costume Design for her work on Poor Things.

James Price, Shona Heath and Zsuzsa Mihalek won for Best Production Design on Poor Things.

Jennifer Lame won the Oscar for Best Editing for her work on Oppenheimer.

Tarn Willers and Johnnie Burn won Best Sound for The Zone of Interest.

Get the latest updates in your inbox