google play
app store
settings icon
profile icon


Money Heist final season will premiere on September 3

The final season will be released in two instalments with five episodes each

Sanjith Sidhardhan | OTTplay
May 23, 2021
cover image

The wait is almost over for Money Heist’s final season. The makers had earlier this month wrapped up production of the blockbuster Spanish series and now Netflix has announced the release date of the fifth and final season.

The latest season will have instalments of five episodes each. The first volume will be released on September 3 and the final five episodes will drop on December 3, 2021, marking the end of the famous TV heist in history.

The creator of the series, Álex Pina, said, “When we began to write Part 5 in the midst of the pandemic, we felt that we had to change what was expected from the ten-episode season and used every tool we could to create the sensation of a season finale or series finale in the first volume itself. We decided to work in an extremely aggressive genre, putting The Gang on the ropes. In volume 2, we focus more on the emotional situation of the characters. It is a journey across their sentimental map that connects us directly to their departure.”

The series, which aired its first season in 2017, went on to become a global phenomenon in the past few years. The latest season will focus on the gang who are trapped in the Bank of Spain for over 100 hours. While they have managed to rescue Lisbon, their darkest moment is upon them after losing one of their own. The Professor has been captured by Sierra and, for the first time, doesn’t have an escape plan. And now they also have to confront the army. What began as a robbery has now escalated into a war, reads the official synopsis of the final season.

The makers also released a teaser trailer of the gang going up against the army, with Tokyo saying that "the most important moments are those when we understand there is no return".

Money Heist, also known as La Casa de Papel, stars Úrsula Corberó, Álvaro Morte, Itziar Ituño, Pedro Alonso, Paco Tous, Alba Flores, Miguel Herrán and Jaime Lorente. All seasons of the series are available to stream on Netflix.

Partner sites:
Hindustan Times · Live Hindustan · Live Mint
Desimartini · Shine · Healthshots · Slurrp
Copyright @ 2021 OTTplay, Hindustan Media Ventures Limited