Home»News»OTTplay Awards 2022: Meet the prestigious jury members for the first-ever pan-India OTT awards»

OTTplay Awards 2022: Meet the prestigious jury members for the first-ever pan-India OTT awards

The OTTplay Awards jury members include Adil Hussain, Aanand L. Rai, Divya Dutta, Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari, and Neha Sharma.

OTTplay Awards 2022: Meet the prestigious jury members for the first-ever pan-India OTT awards
Aanand L. Rai; Adil Hussain; Divya Dutta; Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari; Neha Sharma
  • Team OTTplay

Last Updated: 06.26 AM, Sep 10, 2022


The democratisation of the content-viewing experience brought about by the OTT explosion has been a key inspiration for OTTplay, India's first AI-based OTT recommendation and content-discovery platform. The first-ever OTTplay Awards and Conclave, a high-profile event from the Hindustan Times, seeks to recognise the greatest actors, filmmakers, and web series from across ten Indian languages and a wide range of OTT platforms that had their streaming service debuts in the previous calendar year. On September 10 in Mumbai, the conference will begin with a conclave that will bring together leaders in the OTT industry with celebrities, content producers, advertisers, and technological enablers to discuss how OTTs will change the entertainment industry in the future.

The first Pan-India OTT Award Show, the OTTplay Awards, will come next. Through their numerous genre-spanning categories, including Best Movie, Best Webseries, Best Actor (Male and Female), and Best Director, the OTTplay Awards will honour and recognise outstanding material and sterling performances across languages that have captivated audiences in India. At the OTTplay Awards and Conclave, critically acclaimed films and web series in Hindi, Telugu, Tamil, Malayalam, Kannada, and Bengali will compete against one another for the top prizes.

The OTTplay Awards jury includes prominent members of the film community as well as well-known and experienced journalists. They include actors Adil Hussain and Divya Dutta; filmmakers Aanand L. Rai and Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari; and HT City's Resident Editor Neha Sharma.

Divya Dutta

One of India's most accomplished performers, Divya Dutta, has acted in Hindi, Punjabi, and English films. She is the recipient of numerous honours, including a National Film Award.

In 2004, Dutta received a lot of positive reviews for her performance as Shabbo in the love drama Veer-Zaara. She was nominated for best supporting actress at several events. In the years that followed, she won awards for her work in the comedies Welcome to Sajjanpur (2008) and Delhi-6 (2009). In 2009, she won the IIFA Award for Best Supporting Actress for her role as Jalebi.

Character parts in the 2012 drama Heroine and the 2011 drama Stanley Ka Dabba helped Dutta further her reputation. Her roles in Gippi and the biographical sports drama movie Bhaag Milkha Bhaag, in which she played Ishri Kaur, Milkha Singh's sister, attracted recognition in 2013. For her performance in the latter, she received numerous honours and accolades, including her second IIFA Award for Best Supporting Actress. She has appeared in over sixty feature films, including two foreign films, to date.

Dutta won the National Film Award for Best Supporting Actress in 2017 for her work in the social drama Irada.

Adil Hussain

Talented actor Adil Hussain appears in movies like The Reluctant Fundamentalist and Life of Pi (both 2012) in both Indian and foreign cinema, including art-house and mainstream Bollywood.

At the 2017 National Film Awards, he was given National Film Awards (Special Jury) for Maj Rati Keteki and Hotel Salvation.

He has played leading roles in movies that are in English, Hindi, Assamese, Bengali, Tamil, Marathi, Malayalam, Norwegian, and French.

Aanand L. Rai

The romantic comedies Tanu Weds Manu (2011), Raanjhanaa (2013), Tanu Weds Manu: Returns (2015), and Zero (2018) were directed and produced by Aanand L. Rai.

With the 2011 romance blockbuster Tanu Weds Manu, starring Madhavan and Kangana Ranaut, he found popularity. He directed the 2013 film Raanjhanaa, which also starred Sonam Kapoor, Abhay Deol, and actor Dhanush in his Bollywood debut. Tanu Weds Manu: Returns, his 2015 film, was a commercial and critical triumph. His subsequent movie, Zero, a love drama starring Shah Rukh Khan as a dwarf, Anushka Sharma, and Katrina Kaif, was his subsequent movie. Despite being hailed as ambitious, the movie had mixed reviews from critics and viewers.

Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari

Filmmaker and author Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari made her directing debut in 2016 with the comedy-drama Nil Battey Sannata. After receiving positive reviews for the movie, Tiwari went on to helm its Amma Kanakku remake in Tamil.

Iyer received the 2018 Filmfare Award for Best Director for directing the 2017 romantic comedy Bareilly Ki Barfi. The movie and Iyer's directing won plaudits from critics, and it later became a box office hit.

The filmmaker collaborated on the critically praised film Panga in 2018 with Kangana Ranaut, Neena Gupta, Richa Chadda, and Jassie Gill, which is about a modern family that defies preconceptions.

With the publication of her first fiction book, Mapping Love, she became an author. Iyer is a co-founder of the production company Earthsky Pictures, through which she has worked on various commercials and the docuseries Break Point, which is based on tennis legends Mahesh Bhupathi and Leander Paes.

Neha Sharma

Neha Sharma holds the position of Resident Editor for Hindustan Times' entertainment and lifestyle supplement, HT City. She has been in charge of entertainment coverage for more than 12 years.