google play
app store
settings icon
profile icon


Prithviraj and Biju Menon share best actors awards at 45th Kerala Film Critics Award

Surabhi Lakshmi and Samyukta Menon received the award for Best Actresses at the 45th Kerala Film Critics Awards while the Best Film Award was bagged by The Great Indian Kitchen.

Megha Mukundan
Sep 13, 2021
cover image

The Great Indian Kitchen, helmed by Jeo Baby, bagged the award for Best Film at the 45th Kerala Film Critics Awards. Starring Nimisha Sajayan and Suraj Venjaramoodu, the movie is a strong narrative against patriarchy, which ties up the women inside the kitchen. 

Prithviraj Sukumaran and Biju Menon shared the Best Actor award for their hit movie Ayyappanum Koshiyum, directed by Sachy. The intriguing performance of the duo was discussed widely and the characters have also earned a separate fan base. The movie created so much impact that it is getting Bollywood and Tollywood remakes. 

A still from The Great Indian Kitchen

Actresses Surabhi Lakshmi and Samyukta Menon won the award for Best Actress. While Surabhi was awarded for her performance in the movie Jwalamukhi, Samyukta was awarded for her roles in multiple movies including Aanum Pennum, Wolf and Vellam.

Jayasurya starrer Vellam directed by Prajesh Sen won the second best movie. While Sidharth Siva bagged the award for the Best Director for his movie Ennivar, Sudheesh was selected as the Second Best Actor for the same movie. Mamitha Baiju won the second best actress for the movie Kho Kho.

Harikumar, who is a scriptwriter and director, won the Ruby Jubilee Award, for his contributions to Malayalam cinema. 

Here are the other major awards:

Chalachithra Ratnam Award - K G George

Best Child Artiste - Master Sidharth for the movie Bonami

Best Script Writer - Sachy for the movie Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Best Music Director - M Jayachandran for the movie Sufiyum Sujathayum

Best Cinematographer - Amal Neerad for the movie Trance

Most popular film- Sufiyum Sujathayum helmed by Shanavas Naranipuzha

Partner sites:
Hindustan Times · Live Hindustan · Live Mint
Desimartini · Shine · Healthshots · Slurrp
Copyright @ 2021 OTTplay, Hindustan Media Ventures Limited