google play
app store
settings icon
profile icon


Rafe Judkins on The Wheel of Time: ‘An incredible television series’

The epic show features Rosamund Pike, Josha Stradowski, Marcus Rutherford, Madeleine Madden, among others

Megha Mukundan
Nov 18, 2021
cover image

Rafe Judkins

Showrunner Rafe Judkins revealed how he always thought The Wheel of Time would be an incredible television show. 

Judkins, who has been a fan of Robert Jordan’s book that the show is based on, also thinks that people could see the reason behind shows like these after a few years of Game Of Thrones. Judkins was talking to The Hindu over a video call from Pague where the second season of the high-fantasy show is being shot. According to the 38-year-old screenwriter, the one piece of connective tissue between television and fantasy book series is characters. He feels that they are being watched and read more as they could tell stories over a long period in an engaging manner.

He further revealed that the adaptation of the book was a bit of a tough process as there are 14 books and a prequel to The Wheel of Time, which includes 2,782 named characters. The iconic piece in fantasy literature has seemingly amazed and troubled him at the same time.

Interestingly, the title of each of eight episodes is from the books, says Judkin. The process was done after putting a lot of thought by the team, which will sometimes mean season one is one book and at other times, season one will mean three or four books. He also added that the team is trying to follow the books closely. 

Meanwhile, The Wheel of Time produced by Sony Pictures and Amazon Studios features Rosamund Pike, Josha Stradowski, Marcus Rutherford, Madeleine Madden and more talented actors. The first season is gearing up for a premiere on Prime Video on November 19, 2021. Out of the eight episodes, three will be released tomorrow, while the remaining five will air every week until December 24, 2021. The series is already renewed for a second and third season.

Partner sites:
Hindustan Times · Live Hindustan · Live Mint
Desimartini · Shine · Healthshots · Slurrp
Copyright @ 2021 OTTplay, Hindustan Media Ventures Limited