OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

'Saste log': Anupam Kher posts a cryptic message after The Kashmir Files’ snub at an award

Anupam Kher was nominated for a Filmfare award in the Best Actor category, but Rajkummar Rao won it for the movie Badhaai Do.

'Saste log': Anupam Kher posts a cryptic message after The Kashmir Files’ snub at an award
Anupam Kher

Last Updated: 08.12 PM, Apr 28, 2023


Actor Anupam Kher vented his frustration on Twitter on Friday at The Kashmir Files' exclusion from the just-concluded Filmfare Awards. Kher received a nomination for Best Actor in the list of nominations for the movie. The film, however, did not receive any awards.

Anupam took to social media and posted a quote which read, “Izzat ek mehenga tohfa hai. Iski ummeed saste logo se na kare” The post featured the hashtag – #TheKashmirFiles.

Anupam Khan's tweet generated a number of responses. Many noted that he had also disrespected Filmfare awards, but others noted that The Kashmir Files director Vivek Agnihotri had done the same.

Agnihotri had previously declined to accept the Filmfare nominations. He described the Filmfare Awards as "a corrupt, unethical, and sycophant establishment of Bollywood" on Twitter. The director had posted a lengthy message on Twitter. It read: “According to Filmfare, other than the stars, nobody has a face. Nobody matters. That’s why, in the sycophant and unethical world of Filmfare, Master Directors like Sanjay Bhansali or Sooraj Barjatya have no faces. Sanjay Bhansali looks like Alia Bhatt, Sooraj like Mr. Bachchan and Annes Bazmi like Karthik Aryan. It’s not that a filmmaker’s dignity comes from Filmfare Awards but this humiliating system must end.”

"Therefore, as my protest and dissent against a corrupt, unethical and sycophant establishment of Bollywood, I have decided to not accept such awards,” he added.

Meanwhile, Vivek Agnihotri directorial film, The Kashmir Files, was nominated in the following categories – Best Film, Best Screenplay, Best Director (Vivek Agnihotri), Best Actor (Anupam Kher) and Best Supporting actor (Mithun Chakraborty and Darshan Kumar).

Get the latest updates in your inbox