google play
app store
settings icon
profile icon


The Suicide Squad trailer: Idris Elba’s Bloodsport leads a motley crew of supervillains

The new trailer of The Suicide Squad is already generating a lot of buzz with its star-studded cast 

Anukriti Chaturvedi
Jun 24, 2021
cover image

Source: Stills from the trailer fromWarner Bros. Pictures/ YouTube

Warner Bros. Pictures released the new trailer of the highly anticipated film, The Suicide Squad on June 23. After the mixed reactions from fans of the 2016 David Ayer’s Suicide Squad, the trailer hints that the makers have definitely taken up the latest movie by a notch (or three).

The movie will see a return of Viola Davis as ARGUS director, Amanda Waller and the head of Task Force X, consisting of dangerous felons, risking their lives to save humanity.  

The trailer begins with Waller recruiting Idris Elba as Bloodsport, who is in prison for shooting Superman with a Kryptonite bullet, by threatening his daughter’s freedom. The goal seems to be to destroy a Nazi-era prison and defeat Starro, a telepathic starfish. With eye-catching visuals and trademark sassy dialogues, the movie seems to hold a promise for an engaging and high octane movie. 

In an interview with, John Cena said “you are not ready” for the new James Gunn flick. 

Apart from Idris Elba, the cast will see a return of Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn, Joel Kinnaman as Rick Flag and Jai Courtney as Captain Boomerang. Some new faces will also be joining the cast including John Cena as Peacemaker, Sean Gunn as Weasel, Sylvester Stallone as the voice of Nanaue/ King Shark, Peter Capaldi as the Thinker, David Dastmalchian as Polka Dot Man, Nathan Fillion as TDK, Flula Borg as Javelin, Alice Braga as Sul Soria, Pete Davidson as Blackguard, Michael Rooker as Savant and Mayling Ng as Mongol.

This will be Gunn’s first film after Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. The movie will be released in theatres on August 6 and will drop on HBO Max on the same day. 

Partner sites:
Hindustan Times · Live Hindustan · Live Mint
Desimartini · Shine · Healthshots · Slurrp
Copyright @ 2021 OTTplay, Hindustan Media Ventures Limited