OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

Soorarai Pottru - Where to watch the National Film Award-winning Tamil original of Sarfira

Soorarai Pottru was a critically acclaimed movie that was one of the first notable star films to have a direct OTT release due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Soorarai Pottru - Where to watch the National Film Award-winning Tamil original of Sarfira

Soorarai Pottru and Sarfira posters

Last Updated: 10.16 AM, Jun 19, 2024


The makers of the upcoming Hindi film Sarfira released the film’s official trailer recently. For those who are not aware, the Hindi film is a remake of the critically acclaimed Tamil film Soorarai Pottru, which made a splash by bagging several National Film Awards.

Soorarai Pottru also became the first of its kind by being the first notable star film to have a direct release on OTT, owing to the COVID-19 pandemic. To know where you can watch the film before Sarfira releases, read on further.

Where to watch Soorarai Pottru, the Sarfira original


Soorarai Pottru is a drama film that was released in 2020. Owing to the rising number of COVID-19 cases and theatres not functioning, the film premiered digitally on Prime Video, making it one of the earliest Tamil films to have direct OTT release despite being headlined by Suriya. The film stars the actor, along with Aparna Balamurali, Paresh Rawal, Mohan Babu, Urvashi and Karunas. Soorarai Pottru is helmed by Sudha Kongara.

The film takes inspiration from GR Gopinath's life. He founded India's low-cost airline, Simplifly Deccan. Suriya plays the lead role of Nedhumaran, who overcomes struggles and politics to kickstart his ambition.

Akshay Kumar in Sarfira
Akshay Kumar in Sarfira

Soorarai Pottru became critically successful and made a splash at the 68th National Film Awards by bagging five awards: Best Feature Film, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Screenplay, and Best Background Score. GV Prakash scored the music for the Tamil version.

More on Sarfira

Sarfira is the Hindi remake of the Tamil film and stars Akshay Kumar in the lead role. It will hit theatres on July 12 and feature actors Paresh Rawal, Radhikka Madan, Seema Biswas, R. Sarath Kumar, Saurabh Goyal, Krishnakumar Balasubramanian, Irawati Harshe Mayadev, Anil Charanjeett, Prakash Belawadi, Rahul Vohra and others. Suriya will appear in a cameo role.

With Sudha and GV Prakash resuming their roles as director and composer, respectively, Sarfira will be backed by Aruna Bhatia, Jyotika, Suriya, and Vikram Malhotra. Meanwhile, you can stream the Tamil version on Prime Video.

Get the latest updates in your inbox