OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

ICC U19 World Cup: Another India vs Australia encounter, Indian captains who won the title, most runs scored, and other interesting facts

India and Australia will head into the U19 World Cup 2024 final undefeated, having topped their respective groups in both, the initial stage and the Super Six stage.

ICC U19 World Cup: Another India vs Australia encounter, Indian captains who won the title, most runs scored, and other interesting facts
IND U19 vs AUS U19 Final

Last Updated: 11.22 AM, Feb 10, 2024


In the ongoing ICC U19 World Cup 2024, after being 32/4 down while chasing 245 runs in the 1st semi-final, the Indian team stood tall against all the challenges as they defeated South Africa to enter the tournament's final. The Uday Saharan-led side was engaged in a nail-biting thriller, which saw a replication in the 2nd semi-final between Australia and Pakistan, where the Men in Green almost defended their low-scoring total, but the Aussies managed to enter the final.

Now with the final looming over their heads, here are some interesting facts about the upcoming clash on Sunday. India and Australia will head into the final undefeated, having topped their respective groups in both, the initial stage and the Super Six stage.

All India-Australia finals in ICC tournaments: The two sides have faced each other 8 times

ICC World Cup 2003 Final - The team led by Ricky Ponting defeated Sourav Ganguly's side by 125 runs.

ICC Women's World Cup 2005 Final - Australia secured a comfortable 98-run victory against India.

ICC U19 World Cup 2012 Final - The Unmukt Chand-led side achieved a milestone by defeating Australia in the final of an ICC event for the first time.

ICC U19 World Cup 2018 Final - Under the captaincy of Prithvi Shaw, India clinched the title by eight wickets.

ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2020 Final - Meg Lanning-led Australia secured an 85-run victory in front of a packed crowd at the MCG.

ICC World Test Championship (WTC) 2023 Final - This marked India's second consecutive loss in the WTC as the Aussies won by 209 runs.

ICC Men's ODI World Cup 2023 Final - Pat Cummins-led Australia defeated the hosts by six wickets at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium.

Captains who led India in U19 World Cups:

Mohammad Kaif - He led India to their 1st U19 Final in 2000, where they defeated Sri Lanka to lift the cup with players like Yuvraj Singh in his squad.

Ravikant Shukla - While they lost to Pakistan in 2006, this side had the likes of Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Manish Pandey, Piyush Chawla, and Cheteshwar Pujara.

Virat Kohli - His side in 2008 defeated South Africa to lift the title with players like Ravindra Jadeja, Siddharth Kaul, Abhinav Mukund, Manish Pandey, and Saurabh Tiwary in the squad.

Unmukt Chand - He led the 2012 side to victory with players like Hanuma Vihari and Sandeep Sharma in the squad.

Ishan Kishan - While the side lost to West Indies in 2016, the squad had players like Rishabh Pant, Sarfaraz Khan, Washington Sundar, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, and Mahipal Lomror.

Prithvi Shaw - He led the side to the 2018 title with players like Shubman Gill, Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma, Arshdeep Singh, and Shivam Mavi in the squad.

Priyam Garg - While they lost the 2020 final to Bangladesh, the side had the likes of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Dhruv Jurel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kartik Tyagi, and more.

Yash Dhull - He led the side to the 2022 title with the likes of Raj Angad Bawa, RS Hangargekar, and Vicky Ostwal in the squad.

Uday Sharan - He was part of the 2022 team as a standby player and will be playing the final on Sunday (February 11) against Australia.

U19 Captains with the most runs in a single World Cup edition:

Uday Sharan - Currently he has slammed 381 runs, but still has one game to go.

Prithvi Shaw - He slammed 261 runs in the 2018 World Cup.

Unmukt Chand - He slammed 246 runs in the 2012 edition.

Virat Kohli - He scored 235 runs in the 2008 tournament.

Yash Dhull - He slammed 229 runs in the 2022 U19 World Cup.

Highest run-scorers of 2024 before the final:

Uday Saharan (IND) - In 6 matches scored 389 runs

Musheer Khan (IND) - In 6 matches scored 338 runs

Sachin Dhas (IND) - In 6 matches scored 294 runs

Lhuan-dre Pretorius (SA) - In 6 matches scored 287 runs

Jamie Dunk (Scotland) - In 4 matches scored 263 runs

Top five wicket-takers before the final:

Kwena Maphaka (SA) - In 6 matches took 21 wickets

Ubaid Shah (PAK) - In 6 matches took 18 wickets

Saumy Pandey (IND) - In 6 matches took 17 wickets

Tazeem Ali (ENG) - In 4 matches took 14 wickets

Vishwa Lahiru (SL) - In 5 matches took 12 wickets 

IND vs AUS U19 World Cup Final: Full squad

India U19: Arshin Kulkarni, Adarsh Singh, Rudra Mayur Patel, Sachin Dhas, Priyanshu Moliya, Musheer Khan, Uday Saharan (captain), Aravelly Avanish Rao, Saumy Kumar Pandey, Murugan Abhishek, Innesh Mahajan, Dhanush Gowda, Aaradhya Shukla, Raj Limbani, Naman Tiwari.

Australia U19: Hugh Weibgen (captain), Lachlan Aitken, Charlie Anderson, Harkirat Bajwa, Mahli Beardman, Tom Campbell, Harry Dixon, Ryan Hicks, Sam Konstas, Rafael MacMillan, Aidan O'Connor, Harjas Singh, Tom Straker, Callum Vidler, Ollie Peake.

Get the latest updates in your inbox