google playGoogle
app storeiOS
app store
app store
Get Alerts on WhatsApp
settings icon
profile icon

IND vs NZ: Netizens enraged after Hardik Pandya given out by third umpire in 1st ODI

Was the decision to give Hardik Pandya out correct?

IND vs NZ: Netizens enraged after Hardik Pandya given out by third umpire in 1st ODI
Hardik Pandya given out
  • Karen Noronha

Last Updated: 11.32 AM, Jan 18, 2023

Share
Available On:

What just happened? While the New Zealanders were confident that Hardik Pandya had chopped onto the stumps in the first One-Day International between India and New Zealand, it is also possible that Tom Latham's glove disturbed the bails.

The BlackCaps captain doesn't appear to be very confident, so the on-field umpires request a review. It was a fair delivery. The rerun implies that Latham's gloves made contact with the stumps. No bat was involved, as the ultra edge shows a flat line.

Split screen replays show that the glove is behind the stumps and the ball kissed the off bail. Although it was a very close call, the third umpire decides in Latham's favour. The Indian all-rounder left feeling confused and upset. 

Seeing the umpire give Hardik Pandya out, netizens believe he has been cheated and it was a wrong decision by the third umpire KN Anantha Padmanabhan.

Talking about the clash, in 44 overs, India scored 287 runs and lost five wickets. Shubman Gill has breached the 150-run mark. He got support from Rohit Sharma (34), Suryakumar Yadav (31) and Hardik Pandya (28). 

0