OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

IPL 2024 - 17-year-old Kwena Maphaka makes MI and IPL debut, fans excited to see South African pacer

MI made one change, with Luke Wood missing out and getting in 17-year-old Kwena Maphaka for the clash against SRH.

IPL 2024 - 17-year-old Kwena Maphaka makes MI and IPL debut, fans excited to see South African pacer
Kwena Maphaka

Last Updated: 07.52 PM, Mar 27, 2024


After dazzling fans in the ICC U19 World Cup 2024, where he clinched three five-wicket hauls and secured 21 wickets (the second-highest tally in a single tournament), Kwena Maphaka is now poised to expand his fanbase as he makes his debut in Match 8 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024.

In the clash against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Mumbai Indians (MI) skipper Hardik Pandya announced during the toss that the young 17-year-old South African would be making his debut. This news undoubtedly sparked excitement among fans, particularly with MI now fielding three young Proteas players in the playing XI.

17-year-old Kwena Maphaka

20-year-old Dewald Brevis

23-year-old Gerald Coetzee

Youngest overseas players on IPL debut:

17y, 11d - Mujeeb Ur Rahman (PBKS vs DC, 2018)

17y, 283d - Sandeep Lamichhane (DC vs RCB, 2018)

17y, 354d - Kwena Maphaka (MI vs SRH, 2024)

18y, 103d - Noor Ahmad (GT vs RR, 2023)

18y, 170d - Mitchell Marsh (Deccan Chargers vs RCB, 2010)

As for the clash, Mumbai Indians won the toss and have opted to field against SRH at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. MI made one change, with Luke Wood missing out. As for SRH, Travis Head was brought in to replace Marco Jansen, while T Natarajan, who has a niggle, misses out and Jaydev Unadkat comes in his place.

This is also a special match for former MI skipper Rohit Sharma who is playing his 200th IPL game for the Mumbai franchise. He was gifted a special '200' jersey by Indian cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar. 


Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Travis Head, Mayank Agarwal, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins(c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Markande, Jaydev Unadkat

Subs: Nitish Reddy, Washington Sundar, Umran Malik, Glenn Phillips, Upendra Yadav

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan(w), Rohit Sharma, Naman Dhir, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya(c), Tim David, Gerald Coetzee, Shams Mulani, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah, Kwena Maphaka

Subs: Dewald Brevis, Romario Shepherd, Mohammad Nabi, Vishnu Vinod, Nehal Wadhera

Get the latest updates in your inbox