Amit Mishra had earlier as well violated the restriction on saliva before. He had accidentally applied saliva to the ball in 2021.
Last Updated: 06.25 PM, Apr 10, 2023
Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) bowler Amit Mishra was caught on camera shining the ball using his saliva against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Match 15 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. Two balls after this incident, he got the wicket of former captain Virat Kohli during the RCB vs LSG match.
Mishra had got rid of Kohli in the first innings on the third delivery of the 12th over. Kohli departed for 61 runs off 44 balls, packed with four fours and four sixes.
Why is this an issue?
For those who are unaware, the ICC permanently banned the use of saliva on balls after the Covid-19 epidemic. Players are permitted to utilise perspiration in place of saliva when generally swinging the ball, but saliva is not permitted.
In fact, Mishra has disobeyed the prohibition on salivation before as well. Mishra accidentally put saliva on the ball before bowling his first delivery in the game for Delhi Capitals (DC) in IPL 2021. Umpire Virender Sharma had then issued the first warning to Delhi Capitals captain Rishabh Pant following the incident.
As for the clash, the last over of the game proved to be a thriller as the Bangalore outfit lost by 1 wicket. This is the fifth time RCB have lost after scoring 200+ batting first - the most by a team in IPL.