Fans took out MCC rules to speak about Virat Kohli's dismissal.
Last Updated: 08.26 AM, Feb 18, 2023
A big and surely controversial moment after set batter Virat Kohli was given out on Day 2 of the 2nd Test between India and Australia. The decision even got the whole of Kotla to get silenced as the homeboy started to walk away.
So why is there so much talk about the dismissal? Kohli, who was batting on 44, faced debutant Matthew Kuhnemann who bowled an arm ball and just squeezed past the bat as Kohli tried to defend.
Virat Kohli was given out LBW by Nitin Menon and the batter soon went for a review. The wickets were only marginally hitting as per Hawk Eye and he was asked to leave.
However, what has got cricket fans debating is of the decision was right as it looked like the ball had hit both bat and pad at the same time.
Former India cricketer Wasim Jaffer too took to Twitter and wrote, "That wasn't out to me. Too much doubt in there. #INDvAUS #ViratKohli".
Many fans too joined him in this discussion, and there were some who quoted the MCC rule for such a dismissal.
What does the MCC rule state?
According to MCC Law 36 of LBW, if the ball touches both bat and the pad, the bat is considered and the batsman is given not out.
Currently, as this article is written, R Ashwin and Axar Patel are at the crease as India trails by 111 runs.
The Men in Blue lost wickets in quick succession and are already seven wickets down. Nathan Lyon went on to get his five wicket-haul.