OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

House of the Dragon Season 2: Guide to the episodes and full release schedule

House of the Dragon Season 2, where the Targaryen civil war is heating up, kicks off on June 17, 2024, on JioCinema.

House of the Dragon Season 2: Guide to the episodes and full release schedule
A still from House of the Dragon Season 2

Last Updated: 04.31 PM, Jun 15, 2024


Season 2 of House of the Dragon will premiere this coming week, bringing viewers back to Westeros. This prequel series delves into the Targaryen, Hightower, and Velaryon families' histories, drawing inspiration from George R. R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire novels, particularly Fire & Blood. In the first season, we saw time jumps between people's youth and adulthood as the tale of House Targaryen unfolded, taking place two hundred years before Game of Thrones events.

House of the Dragon: Premiere date and viewing schedule

Monday, June 17 at 6:30 a.m. marks the start of House of the Dragon Season 2. There will be eight episodes in Season 2. There were ten episodes in the first season. Following Season 2's premiere on June 17, new episodes will be available every Monday thereafter. From Mondays at 6:30 a.m. until the series finale airs on August 5, viewers may catch them on JioCinema in India.


Season 2 of House of the Dragon will be released on the following dates:

Episode 1: June 17

Episode 2: June 24

Episode 3: July 1

Episode 4: July 8

Episode 5: July 15

Episode 6: July 22

Episode 7: July 29

Episode 8: August 5

Central conflict: The Dance of the Dragons

Season 2 will put viewers in the position of choosing between King Aegon's Green Council and Queen Rhaenyra's Black Council in the ongoing civil war, the Dance of the Dragons. Both characters have staked claims to Westeros's throne via their family trees, and now they'll square off for the coveted Iron Throne. 

Before Season 2 even premiered, the prequel to Game of Thrones received a third-season renewal, indicating more epic dragon battles and a full-blown war in the future.

Cast members

Rhys Ifans, Sonoya Mizuno, Ewan Mitchell, Fabien Frankel, Olivia Cooke, Emma D'Arcy, Eve Best, Steve Toussaint, and Tom Glynn-Carney are among the returning cast members for season two. Besides Harry Collett and Bethany Antonia, other returning cast members include Jefferson Hall, Matthew Needham, Phoebe Campbell, and Phia Saban.

Alyn of Hull (Abubakar Salim), Alys Rivers (Gayle Rankin), Ser Gwayne Hightower (Freddie Fox), Ser Simon Strong (Simon Russell Beale), Addam of Hull (Clark Liberty), Ser Alfred Broome (Jamie Kenna), Hugh (Kieran Bew), Tom Bennett (Ulf), Lord Cregan Stark (Tom Taylor), and Ser Rickard Thorne (Vincent Regan) are all newcomers to the cast.

Get the latest updates in your inbox