OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

IPL 2024 - Fans question Hardik Pandya on giving Jasprit Bumrah 4th over as pacer gets wicket on return

After winning the toss and choosing to bowl, Hardik Pandya bowled the first over, then handed it to Luke Wood, and returned for the third over.

IPL 2024 - Fans question Hardik Pandya on giving Jasprit Bumrah 4th over as pacer gets wicket on return
Jasprit Bumrah

Last Updated: 08.12 PM, Mar 24, 2024


After Mumbai Indians (MI) skipper Hardik Pandya won the toss and chose to bowl against Gujarat Titans (GT) in Match 5 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, many anticipated the usual scenario: Jasprit Bumrah opening with the new ball. However, shocking both the crowd and fans, Pandya took the first over, handed Luke Wood the second, and returned for the third.

GT batters Wriddhiman Saha and skipper Shubman Gill capitalized on this, enjoying a free reign to score runs at the start. Fortunately for MI fans, a bowling change was made, and the spearhead pacer Bumrah was given the ball and he made an impact in his first over by dismissing Saha for 19.

It was a trademark Bumrah yorker angled in from wide of the crease. Saha, late to bring his bat down, also ended up playing outside the line. The ball was seen crashing into the base of the middle stump and fans cheered as Bumrah made a return with a bang after missing last season due to injury. 

However, many took to X (formerly known as Twitter) to question Pandya's decision to delay Bumrah's bowling until the 4th over. Even the commentators were heard saying why the side delayed bringing in Bumrah early and getting the early breakthroughs.

As of writing this article, in 8 overs, GT has scored 66 runs but lost both their openers. After Saha's wicket, Shubman Gill tried to get the momentum back and he got some runs, but he was sent back by the experienced spinner Piyush Chawla. Currently, Sai Sudharsan and debutant Azmatullah Omarzai are at the crease.

As for GT, they also have a new captain in the form of the young Indian, Shubman Gill. During the toss, he expressed his excitement, stating, "Feels very excited to be able to captain at a stadium where I have a lot of fond memories." 


Gujarat Titans (Playing XI): Shubman Gill(c), Wriddhiman Saha(w), Sai Sudharsan, Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Umesh Yadav, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Spencer Johnson

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan(w), Tilak Varma, Naman Dhir, Hardik Pandya(c), Tim David, Shams Mulani, Piyush Chawla, Gerald Coetzee, Jasprit Bumrah, Luke Wood.

Get the latest updates in your inbox