OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

IPL 2024 - RCB's 263-run record BROKEN! Watch SRH batters create new milestone of 277 runs against MI

Heinrich Klaasen (80 off 34) made sure the ball kept clearing the boundary as he smashed 7 sixes and struck 4 fours.

IPL 2024 - RCB's 263-run record BROKEN! Watch SRH batters create new milestone of 277 runs against MI
Heinrich Klaasen

Last Updated: 09.37 PM, Mar 27, 2024


The crowd at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium has been anything but calm since ball one, as the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) batters have brought them immense joy by surpassing the old Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) record of the highest total of 263 runs.

After Mayank Agarwal's dismissal for 11 runs, Travis Head (62 off 24) and Abhishek Sharma (63 off 23) looked unstoppable against Mumbai Indians (MI). However, after their dismissals, Aiden Markram and Heinrich Klaasen stitched a 116-run partnership, propelling their side's total to 277 runs in 20 overs.

What was RCB's previous record?

The Bengaluru franchise had posted a mammoth score of 263 runs and lost just 5 wickets against Pune Warriors (PW) on April 23, 2013. Chris Gayle then remained not out after he scored 175 runs off 66 balls. Today, on March 27, 2024, the IPL has a new highest total: 277 runs!

Travis Head's innings consisted of 9 fours and 3 sixes, while Abhishek Sharma smashed 3 fours and 7 maximums. Aiden Markram (42) also hit 2 fours and 1 maximum, but it was Heinrich Klaasen (80 off 34) who ensured the ball cleared the boundary 7 times and struck 4 fours.

For MI, winning the toss and opting to bowl proved to be a regrettable decision as they struggled to contain the SRH batsmen. Only Hardik Pandya, Gerald Coetzee, and Piyush Chawla managed to take wickets while the playing XI just saw the ball soaring in the air and into the stands.


Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Travis Head, Mayank Agarwal, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins(c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Markande, Jaydev Unadkat

Subs: Nitish Reddy, Washington Sundar, Umran Malik, Glenn Phillips, Upendra Yadav

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan(w), Rohit Sharma, Naman Dhir, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya(c), Tim David, Gerald Coetzee, Shams Mulani, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah, Kwena Maphaka

Subs: Dewald Brevis, Romario Shepherd, Mohammad Nabi, Vishnu Vinod, Nehal Wadhera.

Get the latest updates in your inbox