google playGoogle
app storeiOS
settings icon
profile icon

Cannes 2022: Triangle of Sadness wins Palme d’Or; Close and Stars at Noon win Grand Prix

While Park Chan-wook won Best Director, All That Breathes won the Golden Eye for Best Documentary.

  • Akshay Krishna

Last Updated: 06.18 AM, May 29, 2022

Cannes 2022: Triangle of Sadness wins Palme d’Or; Close and Stars at Noon win Grand Prix

Festival de Cannes - Twitter

The Cannes International Film Festival is as big as it gets when it comes to film festivals. While this year’s Cannes saw Indians keep a keen eye on the festivities, the winners of this year’s awards in different categories have now been announced. 

Ruben Ostlund’s Triangle of Sadness won the Palme d’Or, meaning that this is the second time the filmmaker has won cinema’s most prestigious award. He had previously won the Palme d’Or for The Square, back in 2017. Triangle of Sadness is a satire of modern capitalism starring Woody Harrelson, Harris Dickinson and Charlbi Dean among others. 

Claire Denis's Stars at Noon and Belgian director Lukas Dhont's Close shared this year’s Grand Prix, which is the jury’s second prize at Cannes. While Stars at Noon is an erotic, political drama starring Maid actor Margaret Qualley, Close is a semi-autobiographical story about two 13-year-old boys. 

South Korean filmmaker Park Chan-wook, who is known for neo-noir action thriller Oldboy, won Best Director for his mystery, Decision to Leave. Song Kang-ho won the Best Actor for his role in Broker while Zar Amir-Ebrahimi bagged the Best Actress award for holy Spider. 

Shaunaq Sen’s documentary All That Breathes, which was the only Indian film in competition at this year’s Cannes, won the Golden Eye award for Best Documentary Film. The Camera d’Or, which is the award for the best first film, was bagged by Riley Keough and Gina Gammell for War Pony. 

Jury president Vincent Lindon told the crowd, as reported by DNA, that the Palme d'Or winner was selected with a strong majority. Asghar Farhadi, Rebecca Hall, Ladj Ly, Jeff Nichols, Deepika Padukone, Noomi Rapace, Joachim Trier and Jasmine Trinca were other members of the jury.