google playGoogle
app storeiOS
settings icon
profile icon

Hoichoi drops Feluda trailer, series to release on June 17

Srijit Mukherji’s Feludar Goyendagiri will begin with Darjeeling Jawmjawmat

  • Shamayita Chakraborty

Last Updated: 05.44 PM, Jun 01, 2022

Hoichoi drops Feluda trailer, series to release on June 17
Tota Roy Chowdhury as Feluda

Hoichoi dropped the trailer of Srijit Mukherji’s much-anticipated Feluda series, Feludar Goyendagiri, on June 1. The series, featuring Tota Roy Chowdhury as Feluda, Anirban Chakrabarti as Lalmohan Ganguly and Kalpan Mitra as Topshe, is a cinematic adaptation of Satyajit Ray’s Darjeeling Jawmjawmat and will be released on June 17. The trailer introduces other characters, including Rahul as Mumbai-based director Pulak Ghoshal and Barun Chanda as Birupakkho Majumder. 

Talking about his character, Rahul said, “I am very happy to play this character. In Sandip Ray’s first film adaptation of Feluda Bombaiyer Bombete, Pulak Ghoshal – Jatayu’s friend – is played by Paran Bandopadhyay. In Satyajit Ray’s book, Pulak Ghoshal calls Lalmohanbabu, Laluda. The age gap between Pulak Ghoshal and Lalmohanbabu in this series is according to the book. I am looking forward to the release.”   

Earlier, Srijit created another Feluda show, Feluda Ferot, for Addatimes. The first and the only released series is based on Chinnomastar Obhishap. Meanwhile, Srijit’s ‘futuristic’ love story, X=Prem will be released on June 3 in theatres. The film has Arjun Chakrabarty, Madhurima Basak, Shruti Das and Anindya Sengupta in lead. “Working with a bunch of youngsters brought in a lot of freshness and new ideas on set,” the director told us.    

Satyajit Ray’s detective character Feluda is one of the most sought-after characters for film adaptation. Ray directed two Feluda films, Sonar Kella and Jai Baba Felunath, in which Soumitra Chatterjee is seen as the Bong detective. Given the popularity of the character, Ray’s son has also directed a number of Feluda films – including Kailashey Kelenkari in 2007, Tintorettor Jishu in 2008, Gorosthaney Sabdhan in 2010, Royal Bengal Rohosso in 2011 and Double Feluda in 2016.