OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

Mimi Chakraborty, Nusrat Jahan, Kanchan Mullick, and Kaushani are not on the campaigner list for the General Election 2024

Mimi Chakraborty resigned from her MP post in February. Kanchan Mullick, however, started campaigning for Kalyan Bandyopadhyay 

Mimi Chakraborty, Nusrat Jahan, Kanchan Mullick, and Kaushani are not on the campaigner list for the General Election 2024
Mimi, Kanchan and Nusrat

Last Updated: 11.51 PM, Mar 27, 2024


The General Election is just around the corner. The ruling party of West Bengal, TMC, announced its list of star campaigners to the election commission. Strangely, two ex-MPs, Mimi Chakraborty and Nusrat Jahan, and a sitting MLA Kanchan Mullick, did not have their names on that list. Nusrat and Mimi did not get the tickets and now they were removed from the campaign also. 

There were speculations about distances between Mimi-Nusrat and the TMC. It is questioned whether they will remain in the party. Mimi resigned from the MP post in February. She went to the assembly and talked to Mamata about her problems. She complained that the party did not let her work. 

The candidate list showed that actress Saayani Ghosh replaced Mimi in Jadavpur. When Mimi resigned from the MP post, she told the media that she would campaign for the party and be at Didi’s side. However, it will probably not happen. 

There has been a distance between Mimi and Nusrat also. A significant section of the party is unhappy with Nusrat. They complained that Nusrat did not give time to her constituency Basirhat. The infamous Sandeshkhali that ruled the headlines in Bengal politics is a part of the constituency. But Nusrat allegedly never set foot there. She came in front of the media and while talking about the issue, the actress mistook the 144 ruling and said 174 ruling instead. She was trolled for her faux pas. 

Meanwhile, the Uttarpara MLA Kanchan Mullick also did not get a place in the list. He recently married Sreemoyee Chottoraj who is much younger than him. Kanchan is close to Srerampore’s MP Kalyan Banerjee. He has been painting graffiti in favour of the candidate in his area but still did not get a place to campaign. 

Kanchan was trolled on social media owing to his third marriage. But a bigger controversy happened when he put a notice at his reception party, stating that the press, drivers, and security people were not allowed there. 

Actress Sayantika Banerjee expressed her displeasure at not getting the ticket. But her name is on the list of campaigners. Dev, Soham Chakraborty, Rachna Banerjee, Saayani Ghosh, June Maliah, Raj Chakraborty, and Sourav Das are on the list. Koushani Mukherjee’s name has also been removed. Koushani contested with the TMC ticket in the 2021 assembly election from Krishnanagar North. She was defeated and then vanished from politics. 

Get the latest updates in your inbox