OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

'Chatur, chanchal, chalak' - Yuzvendra Chahal's magic works, fans want him in T20 World Cup squad

RR spinner Yuzvendra Chahal dismissed DC skipper Rishabh Pant and Abishek Porel.

'Chatur, chanchal, chalak' - Yuzvendra Chahal's magic works, fans want him in T20 World Cup squad
Yuzvendra Chahal

Last Updated: 11.20 PM, Mar 28, 2024


One spinner who consistently makes an impact with the ball in the Indian Premier League (IPL) is Yuzvendra Chahal. The Rajasthan Royals (RR) bowler always secures a spot in the playing XI due to his ability to break partnerships and take crucial wickets.

In Match 9 of IPL 2024 between RR and Delhi Capitals (DC), Chahal first dismissed DC skipper Rishabh Pant (28) in the 13.1 over and later got the better of Abishek Porel (9) in the 15.3 over. His bowling has been splendid, prompting fans to take to social media, particularly X (formerly known as Twitter) stating that he should be included in the Indian squad for the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024, which will be held in the West Indies and USA.

As for the clash, after 17 overs, DC managed to score just 145 runs and had lost their five key batters. The Delhi franchise requires 41 runs in 18 balls with Axar Patel and Tristan Stubbs at the crease.

Earlier in the innings, RR endured a flurry of early dismissals, with Yashasvi Jaiswal (5), Jos Buttler (11), and skipper Sanju Samson (15) getting dismissed to DC's bowling attack. However, R Ashwin was promoted to No. 5 and contributed a valuable 29 off 19 balls. Dhruv Jurel also played a supporting role, contributing 20 runs before being dismissed by Nortje, but it was Riyan Parag's show as he scored an unbeaten 84 in 45 balls - an innings filled with 7 fours and 6 sixes.


Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Ricky Bhui, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Sumit Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar

Subs: Abhishek Porel, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Pravin Dubey, Kumar Kushgara, Rasikh Dar

Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson(w/c), Riyan Parag, Shimron Hetmyer, Dhruv Jurel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sandeep Sharma, Avesh Khan

Subs: Rovman Powell, Nandre Burger, Tanush Kotian, Shubham Dubey, Kuldeep Sen.

Get the latest updates in your inbox