OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

IPL 2024 - Dropped at 0, RCB's Virat Kohli goes to smash 50 vs PBKS at Chinnaswamy

The Chinnaswamy Stadium roared and cheered as the batter Virat Kohli acknowledged the crowd.

IPL 2024 - Dropped at 0, RCB's Virat Kohli goes to smash 50 vs PBKS at Chinnaswamy
RCB's Virat Kohli

Last Updated: 10.28 PM, Mar 25, 2024


After losing skipper Faf du Plessis and Cameron Green, Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) were hoping Virat Kohli would be in fine form to guide the side to victory. And surely the 'King' did not disappoint; after being dropped for 0, he went on to smash a very fine half-century against Punjab Kings (PBKS) in Match 6 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. 

The Chinnaswamy Stadium roared and cheered as the batter, while opting for a simple celebration, acknowledged the crowd. His approach was very aggressive tonight, especially in the Powerplay.

As for the clash, in 10 overs, RCB scored 85 runs and lost three wickets. Royal Challengers Bengaluru need 91 runs in 57 balls with Kohli at the crease. Rajat Patidar was just bowled by Harpreet Brar for 18. Kagiso Rabada is the other bowler who took two wickets.

Earlier, Punjab scored 176 runs and lost 6 wickets in their 20 overs. They lost opener Jonny Bairstow (8), with skipper Shikhar Dhawan (45) being the highest scorer. PBKS' hard-hitters Liam Livingstone (17), Sam Curran (23), and Jitesh Sharma (27) could not get going either. Towards the end, it was Shashank Singh who scored 21 off 8 deliveries, taking the score to 170+ runs. For RCB, Mohammed Siraj and Glenn Maxwell took two wickets each, while Yash Dayal and Alzarri Joseph took one each.

However, AB de Villiers has mentioned that the pitch is no longer behaving like the usual high-scoring track, suggesting that the current score could be deemed sufficient.


Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan(c), Jonny Bairstow, Prabhsimran Singh, Sam Curran, Jitesh Sharma(w), Liam Livingstone, Shashank Singh, Harpreet Brar, Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar

Subs: Arshdeep Singh, Rilee Rossouw, Tanay Thyagarajan, Harpreet Bhatia, Vidwath Kaverappa

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Faf du Plessis(c), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Dinesh Karthik, Anuj Rawat(w), Alzarri Joseph, Mayank Dagar, Mohammed Siraj, Yash Dayal

Subs: Suyash Prabhudessai, Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Swapnil Singh.

Get the latest updates in your inbox