OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

Disney+’s Echo all set to bring visual violence to MCU with a TV-MA rating; here’s how it makes difference

Echo is set to premiere on Disney+ and Disney+ Hotstar in India on January 10, 2024. 

Disney+’s Echo all set to bring visual violence to MCU with a TV-MA rating; here’s how it makes difference
Echo Poster

Last Updated: 09.49 AM, Jan 07, 2024


As the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) enters uncharted territory with a new plan in place, the project standing at the helm of it is Alaqua Cox starrer "Echo." The Disney+ series, set to introduce audiences to a completely new world, is one of the most anticipated shows globally for various reasons. Firstly, Maya Lopez is one of the most mysterious characters, now taking us to the underworld in the universe. There is also talk about cameos, and on top of that, the show carries a TV-MA rating, making history.

If you are uninitiated, "Echo" has become the first Marvel Cinematic Universe product ever to be listed under the TV-MA rating, signifying a turn where Marvel Studios finally embraces violence. This development cannot be missed, especially considering the trailer of "Echo" has already hinted at enough darkness. But what exactly does the TV-MA rating mean, and why is it significant? Read on to know everything about the buzz around the latest show.

What Is TV-MA Rating:

Every piece of content made in the visual medium worldwide is rated by a board that decides which age group should be either kept away or under guidance while watching it. For as long as it has existed, Marvel Studios has religiously made movies and shows that pass the PG-13 test. The PG in the PG-13 rating stands for Parental Guidance, implying that children under the age of 13 will need parental guidance to watch the film/show.

The TV Parental Guidelines system is a television content rating body that determines the suitability of the content intended to be streamed on TV. The TV-MA rating is the R-rated equivalent for television. References to sex, visual violence, blood, gore, and intimate scenes are all factors that lead to a show being rated TV-MA. The MA in the rating stands for Mature Audience Only. As for "Echo," the show will prominently display blood, violence, and broken limbs throughout.


Why Is This Rating So Buzz-Making:

For years, Marvel Studios managed to dodge the TV-MA/R-rating for their films and TV shows. They navigated for over a decade with the PG-13 tag, successfully adhering to its guidelines. They came close to breaking these guidelines in "The Falcon and The Winter Soldier" when John Walker, played by Wyatt Russell, killed a Flag-Smasher in broad daylight. It was the first brutal scene with hints of blood, but the studio cleverly covered it to surpass the PG-13 test.

However, the studio now understands that moving forward, they are introducing some of the most violent characters into the MCU who cannot have a vanilla execution with the gory part of their existence hidden behind the camera. With Moon Knight already existing, Wolverine ready to enter, Echo on the verge, and talks of Punisher and Ghost Rider, there is no way the studio can stick to PG-13.

About Echo:

"Echo" takes the story of Maya Lopez ahead from where we last saw her in "Hawkeye" (another Disney+ show). She now wants to take down Kingpin, aka her uncle Wilson Fisk, because if he continues his nefarious plans, New York will never be the same. The show finally takes us into the shadows of this world and explores the dark. It stars Alaqua Cox as Echo, Vincent D’Onofrio as Kingpin, K. Devery Jacobs as Bonnie, Charlie Cox as Daredevil, and an ensemble.

"Echo" will be the first show under the Marvel Spotlight banner, a new wing of the studio that will focus on telling niche stories of characters in the background and very interesting. Releasing on January 10, 2024, one episode will drop every week. It is a mini-series consisting of 6 episodes in total.

Stay tuned to OTTplay for more on this and everything else from the world of streaming and films.