OTTplay Logo
settings icon
profile icon

IPL 2024 - Low score and poor fielding helps KKR win with ease; DC struggle with bat and bowl

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) secured victory by 7 wickets in 16.3 overs against Delhi Capitals (DC).

IPL 2024 - Low score and poor fielding helps KKR win with ease; DC struggle with bat and bowl
KKR defeat DC

Last Updated: 11.11 PM, Apr 29, 2024


It certainly wasn't Delhi Capitals' (DC) day at all! They not only struggled with the bat, managing to post just 153 runs but also faced challenges with their poor fielding and bowling against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in Match 47 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. 

As a result, the host team secured victory by 7 wickets in 16.3 overs. The total was a far cry from the 200+ runs scored in each of the last six innings at Eden Gardens. KKR opener Philip Salt went on a roll, smashing 68 off 33 balls. 

His partner Sunil Narine scored 15 off 10, while Rinku Singh, who was promoted to the top, managed to score 11 off 11 balls. Skipper Shreyas Iyer (33 off 23) and Venkatesh Iyer (26 off 23) anchored their side to victory. For DC, Axar Patel picked up two wickets, while Lizaad Williams claimed one.

In DC's batting lineup, Kuldeep Yadav emerged as his team's highest scorer, smashing an unbeaten 35 runs off 26 balls, while his team lost 9 wickets in 20 overs. The second-highest scorer was skipper Rishabh Pant, who scored 27 runs off 20 balls.

The other DC batters, namely Prithvi Shaw (13 off 7), Jake Fraser-McGurk (12 off 7), Abishek Porel (18 off 15), Shai Hope (6 off 3), Axar Patel (15 off 21), Tristan Stubbs (4 off 7), Kumar Kushagra (1 off 3), and Rasikh Dar Salam (8 off 10), fell like a pack of cards.

For KKR, Varun Chakaravarthy claimed three wickets, while Vaibhav Arora and Harshit Rana picked up two each. Mitchell Starc and Sunil Narine also contributed with one wicket each.


Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Philip Salt(w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer(c), Andre Russell, Rinku Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

Subs: Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Suyash Sharma, Anukul Roy, Manish Pandey, Rahmanullah Gurbaz

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Abishek Porel, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Rasikh Dar Salam, Lizaad Williams, Khaleel Ahmed

Subs: Mukesh Kumar, Praveen Dubey, Ricky Bhui, Sumit Kumar, Kumar Kushagra

Get the latest updates in your inbox